Light weight sleeping bag

Like to live in the wilds, or just camp? This is the board for you. All things survival and bushcraft related here.
Dashammer
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Dashammer » Tue Oct 14, 2014 4:05 am

Any body have experience with the military issue patrol bag. I have the Gortex bivy and was wondering and what if anything do you all use in conjunction with it, poncho liner, wool blanket, patrol bag and so on and so forth. About got my light weight 100 mile kit together all LBE based. So what is your 100 mile kit look like.

ssracer
KAC Member
KAC Member
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 55 times

Re: Light weight sleeping bag

Post by ssracer » Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:41 am

I have the whole military sleep system. Bivy, patrol bag, heavy bag and compression sack. I just take whatever parts i need depending on what I'm doing

Toecutter1978
KAC Member
KAC Member
Been liked: 14 times

Post by Toecutter1978 » Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:45 am

I have plenty of experience with the patrol bag. Enough to tell you it's heavy, and bulky. It's a great mummy sack, but there are others on the market that are smaller, warmer and snap right in the gortex outer shell. The three piece setup takes up a bunch of room in the ruck, to help offset this, a better compression sack can be utilized. Also, don't leave your bags stuffed in the compression sacks, it breaks down the fill faster and they do not keep the warmth in as well. I have mine laid out under our bed to be able to breath and not become flat.

Aloha Snack-bar!!!

justang1997
KAC Member
KAC Member

Post by justang1997 » Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:03 am

What's the weather going to be like on that 100 miles. My experience has been a good ground pad plus the gortex is fine for summer/fall. Just wear warm clothes to sleep in.
If it were winter I'd use the gortex with a snugpac bag and a poncho liner inside. Plus the ground pad.

Sent from my Q10 using Tapatalk 2

Frailer
KAC Member
KAC Member