ProCroation
KAC Member
KAC Member
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times

Wife bought a Mossberg Maverick 88 and I got the Rem 870

Post by ProCroation » Mon Jun 30, 2014 3:50 am

Like the title says:

A week or two ago I picked up a Remington 870 12 gauge with the vent ribbed 28" barrel from Rural King in Shelbyville. Got to fire it Saturday, all day at a family gathering. Shot clays from about 3pm to 7 or so. I couldn't hit shit at first. My old Browning A5 I used to have, was a more natural happening for me. Although, I readily admit I'm no expert at shooting moving targets with shotgun, that gun was just easy for me. After some practice though and probably 50 or 60 shells, I got better with this 870. Again, not expert level of course. Just enough to get close to winning a few rounds of "knock out" with the clays. I put about 100 rounds or a bit more through it. She ran like a new gun should and I'm satisfied. I got the laminated wood furniture model.

My wife spent the day shooting my cousin's Benelli SuperNova. She enjoyed it and was a decent shot. Enough so, that she decided she wanted her own shotgun (yay for me, I just got her interested in pistol shooting recently too). We ended up taking a trip to Dick's Sporting Goods today, since it was the only gun place we could find open on a Sunday. She didn't want anything expensive to start out with. Her only requirements were, "it has to be black or camo, short barrel (weight purposes) and 20 gauge:. She went with the Maverick 88 by Mossberg. I'll update this thread once she gets the chance to shoot it. Pictures will be posted of both tomorrow.